A map of the Melbourne metropolitan region A map of North Western Victoria A map of Western Victoria A map of South Western Victoria A map of North Eastern Victoria A map of South East Victoria A map of the Geelong metropolitan region
map map map map map map map map

Government in Victoria

Understanding the structure of the Victorian Government

Victorian Government jobs are available at a number of different levels and across various departments, organisations and agencies. Understanding the structure of government can help give you a clearer picture of the different kinds of Victorian Government jobs that exist.

Government in Victoria is made up of the:

  • Governor, who is the Queen's representative and has a ceremonial and an official role in the State
  • Parliament of Victoria, which determines our laws and regulations and has independent officers, such as the Auditor General and Ombudsman, reporting directly to it
  • judiciary that delivers the justice system through courts and tribunals
  • Victorian Public Service, which delivers centrally on legislation and Government initiatives, through departments and agencies
  • public sector, which is made up of agencies that deliver statutory functions and business enterprises across Victoria.

There is also the local government sector, which operates autonomously and delivers municipal services to Victorian communities. Visit the Municipal Association of Victoria website for jobs in local government.

Pathways to Victorian Government jobs

Different career pathways are required for the varied areas of Victorian Government jobs. Obviously some areas (such as the judiciary) require specialised study and training. The focus of this website is on the Victorian Public Service and public sector jobs. You can browse the jobs available here.

How do the Victorian Parliament and the Victorian Government intersect?

The Victorian Parliament has two levels, or 'houses' - the Legislative Assembly (the lower house) and the Legislative Council (the upper house). Parliament is made up of members elected by the people of Victoria. Voting is compulsory for all citizens, and is based on a 'preferential party system' that determines the government of the day. The winning party's leader becomes the Premier, and the losing party becomes the Opposition and forms a 'shadow ministry'. Laws are developed and apply in each State.

(To find out more, click on these links to the Parliament of Victoria website and the Victorian Electoral Commission website.)

State Cabinet is headed by the Premier and comprises Ministers appointed from the Members of Parliament. Cabinet Ministers are assigned portfolios to manage. The Government's initiatives and priorities are delivered through the seven Victorian Public Service departments, a number of VPS agencies, and more than 230 public entities that make up the broader Victorian public sector. Between them, these departments and agencies offer Victorian Government jobs to more than 230,000 people.

Want to know more about working with the Victorian Government? You can read our publication Welcome to Government.